You must login () to review.
Reviewer: CallieDoodle Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2015 08:23 am Title: A Gaslight Friendship

So compelled to write you a note, Dale, that I registered on the site.   I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this story.  I'm not sure I can add much to the other reviews: the language, the scene, and the cleverly incorporated episode.  I also enjoyed the family background on Hutch, and hope you write more, and can get to a bit more of Starsky's family.

Please write a sequel!

By the way, I'm new to this - what is an AU?



Author's Response: It's always flattering when someone is prepared to jump through hoops to provide such lovely feedback. Thank you. :0) I kind of just lurk in S&H fandom these days, alas, although I do have a wee snippet in mind for one day - Starsky and Hutch visit the Great Exhibition. Starsky would unabashedly love it. Hutch would be impressed in spite of himself. AU is a fandom term, short for Alternate Universe - in other words, a story where the writer takes the characters out of their canon setting. Some people love them - some people do not. Guess where I sit on the spectrum?

Reviewer: Ashkevran-Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2012 08:04 pm Title: A Gaslight Friendship

PS - I neglected a very important acknowledgement - to Sonja for the lovely, evocative work of art. Beautiful...just beautiful!

Reviewer: Ashkevran-Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2012 08:02 pm Title: A Gaslight Friendship

You are going to convert me to AUs yet...particularly with a story as interesting, well-written and enjoyable as this one. You truly caught the flavor of the times, with such precise language...I could see and feel all of the atmosphere, the guys themselves, the entire set of scene after scene.

I liked how you set up the flow of the story...it felt comfortable to the reader and effortlessly led us from one section to the next to the next...until it was over.

The problem with wonderful stories like this is...they end. Of course, I read it twice and loved it both times.

Thank you for giving us such a satisfying and beautiful story - even in those gaslight times, they are still "our boys."

Best-

-Angel

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I'm so glad that the guys felt like 'our' guys, because I love AUs, and am always hoping to convert more readers to the fun. *g*  And yes, Sonja provided gorgeous art.

Reviewer: Laura McEwan Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2012 10:43 am Title: A Gaslight Friendship

I am a sucker for S&H AU's. :D I loved this - you led me on thinking of a "Jack the Ripper" theme and with the whole LVS angle, it shone! Nicely done. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you. I'm a sucker for an AU myself, and I enjoyed working all this out. :0)

Reviewer: Dawnwind Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2012 10:50 pm Title: A Gaslight Friendship

I liked imagining Starsky and Hutch in Victorian London--adn the way you threaded LV Stranger into the story nicely linked it back to the series.



Author's Response:

Thank you. :0) I had fun linking in the ep with the AU.

Reviewer: Nancys_soul Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/05/2012 10:18 pm Title: A Gaslight Friendship

Bravo, bravo! I loved this sooo much.



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I'm so pleased. :0)

Reviewer: youtooblondie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2012 11:21 am Title: A Gaslight Friendship

oh, well done, dale! i really like how you incorporated the las vegas strangler epi into this- fit perfectly!

and lovely conclusion... sigh.

thanks so much!



Author's Response:

I was glad to have the 'support' of the episode plot for my first effort at a longer S&H story.  Thank you for the lovely fb. :0)

Reviewer: Susannah Powell Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/28/2012 10:25 am Title: A Gaslight Friendship

I love Au's, and this one was great! I enjoyed it very much!



Author's Response:

Thank you. :0)  I'm very fond of AUs myself, and this was fun to work out.

You must login () to review.